Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Neaton Group

We are a multidisciplinary theory and computation group working at the intersection of physics, chemistry, and materials science. We interact closely with experimental groups to guide and be inspired by studies of new materials and phenomena in the context of nanoscience and renewable energy applications, and to validate and further develop our understanding of condensed phase systems. More »

We are part of the Theory of Nanostructured Materials Facility of the Molecular Foundry, a DOE nanoscience center at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Free access to our computational tools and expertise is available through the Molecular Foundry User Program.



Predicted adsorption behavior of small molecules at open-metal sites in MOF-74 variants provides insight into gas storage and separation properties of nanoporous materials.

Self-energy corrected DFT calculation of spin-dependent transport, within non-equilibrium Green's function (NEGF) framework.

SrTiO3 may be engineered for more efficient absorption of solar energy.

Ligand choice can enhance carbon dioxide's ability to bind to MOFs by a factor of 2 to 3, yielding clues for making better carbon-capture systems.

Visualizing optical excitations in a pentacene crystal reveals a delocalized exciton wavefunction with charge transfer character.


2016 05 09


Congratulations to Michele Kotiuga who completed her PhD and has just started a postdoc at Rutgers. Best wishes Michele!

2015 05 12


Welcome to Sinead Griffin, who recently joined our lab as postdoc!

2015 04 10


Long overdue update: Congratulations to Peter Doak, who finished his PhD at the end of last year, and now has a postdoc position at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Kyuho Lee accepted a position as Senior R&D Engineer at Synopsys in Mountain View. And a warm welcome to Linn Leppert who recently joined the Neaton group as postdoc!

2014 11 03


Congratulations to Josh Howe, who finished his PhD and is already off to Georgia Tech for a postdoc position. Zhiping Wang recently joined the Lester group on campus. All the best to you! We'll see you around.

And a warm welcome to our newest postdoc, Sebastian Reyes Lillo!

2014 08 12


Welcome to our new postdoc Ru Chen, and to Fabien Bruneval, who is visiting the group for one year.

2014 08 01


Sahar Sharifzadeh started her new job as assistant professor at Boston University. Best of luck, Sahar. We will miss you!

News Archive »


2019 18 Ang. Chemie Mao

V. Y. Mao, P. J. Milner, J.-H. Lee, A. C. Forse, E. J. Kim, R. L. Siegelman, C. M. McGuirk, L. B. Porter-Zasada, J. B. Neaton, J. A. Reimer, J. R. Long, "Cooperative Carbon Dioxide Adsorption in Alcoholamine- and Alkoxyalkylamine-Functionalized Metal-Organic Frameworks," Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.59, 2 (2019) Abstract

L. Maserati, S. Refaely-Abramson, C. Kastl, C. T. Chen, N. J. Borys, C. N. Eisler, M. S. Collins, T. E. Smidt, E. S. Barnard, M. Strasbourg, E. A. Schriber, B. Shevitski, K. Yao, J. N. Hohman, P. J. Schuck, S. Aloni, J. B. Neaton, A. M. Schwartzberg, "Anisotropic 2D excitons unveiled in organic-inorganic quantum wells", Mater. Horiz., (2019) Abstract

2019 16 Angewandte Jaffe

A. Jaffe, S. A. Mack, Y. Lin, W. Mao, J. B. Neaton and H. Karunadasa, "High Compression-Induced Conductivity in a Layered Cu-Br Perovskite," Angew. Chem., 10, 1002 (2019) Abstract

2019 15 PRM Leppert

L. Leppert, T. Rangel, and J. B. Neaton, "Towards predictive band gaps for halide perovskites: Lessons from one-shot and eigenvalue self-consistent GW," Phys. Rev. Materials, 3, 103803 (2019) Abstract

2019 14 PRL Schuler

B. Schuler, D. Y. Qiu, S. Refaely-Abramson, C. Kastl, C. T. Chen, S. Barja, R. J. Koch, D. F. Ogletree, S. Aloni, A. M. Schwartzberg, J. B. Neaton, S. G. Louie, and A. Weber-Bargioni, "Large Spin-Orbit Splitting of Deep In-Gap Defect States of Engineered Sulfur Vacancies in Monolayer WS2," Phys. Rev. Lett., 123, 076801 (2019) Abstract

2019 13 ACS Nano Schuler

B. Schuler, J.-H. Lee, C. Kastl, K. A. Cochrane, C. T. Chen, S. Refaely-Abramson, S. Yuan, E. van Veen, R. Roldán, N. J. Borys, R. J. Koch, S. Aloni, A. M. Schwartzberg, D. F. Ogletree, and J. B. Neaton, "How Substitutional Point Defects in Two-Dimensional WS2 Induce Charge Localization, Spin-Orbit Splitting, and Strain," ACS Nano (2019) Abstract

2019 12 Nat Commun Barja

S. Barja, S. Refaely-Abramson, B. Schuler, D. Y. Qiu, A. Pulkin, S. Wickenburg, H. Ryu, M. M. Ugeda, C. Kastl, C. Chen, C. Hwang, A. Schwartzberg, S. Aloni, S.-K. Mo, D. F. Ogletree, M. F. Crommie, O. V. Yazyev, S. G. Louie, J. B. Neaton and A. Weber-Bargioni, "Identifying substitutional oxygen as a prolific defect in monolayer transition metal dichalcogenides", Nat. Commun. 10, 3382 (2019) Abstract

2019 11 JACS Siegelman

R. L. Siegelman, P. J. Milner, A. C. Forse, J.-H. Lee, K. A. Colwell, J. B. Neaton, J. A. Reimer, S. C. Weston, and J. R. Long, "Water Enables Efficient CO2 Capture from Natural Gas Flue Emissions in an Oxidation-Resistant Diamine-Appended Metal-Organic Framework," J. Am. Chem. Soc., 141, 13171 (2019) Abstract

D. Wing, J. B. Haber, R. Noff, B. Barker, D. A. Egger, A. Ramasubramaniam, S. G. Louie, J. B. Neaton, and L. Kronik, "Comparing time-dependent density functional theory with many-body perturbation theory for semiconductors: Screened range-separated hybrids and the GW plus Bethe-Salpeter approach," Phys. Rev. Mater., 3, 064603 (2019) Abstract

S. F. Weber, S. M. Griffin, and J. B. Neaton, "Topological semimetal features in the multiferroic hexagonal manganites," Phys. Rev. Mater., 3, 064206 (2019) Abstract

All Publications »