Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory masthead LBNL Home A-Z Index Phone Book Careers Search DOE logo



Latest News

This year’s recently announced American Physical Society (APS) Fellows include nine scientists from Berkeley Lab. APS Fellows are elected by their peers for “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.”
Full article >>


Tilley, a senior faculty chemist, was named by the American Chemical Society to the 2014 class of ACS Fellows. Tilley, an expert on inorganic and organometallic systems, was recognized for “discoveries of new transformations and compounds involving main group elements and the transition metals.” Full article >>



CSD Faculty Scientist F. Dean Toste has won the 2014 award for "Introduction of Concepts and Catalysts for Organic Synthesis, including those based on Homogeneous Gold Catalysis and Chiral Anion Catalysis."

Professor Toste has pioneered the development of novel catalysts with gold complexes, high-valent metal oxides, and chiral counteranions including: (a) homogeneous low-valent gold catalysts; (b) high-valent metal oxide catalysts; and (c) chiral counteranion-assisted asymmetric metal-free phase-transfer catalysis. More recently he has developed metal catalyst-fermentation hybrid processes for the synthesis of biofuels and chemicals from biomass. Full article >>

News Archive



Adaptavist ThemeBuilder EngineAtlassian Confluence